Page 14 THE VILLADOM TIMES II, III & IV • June 10, 2009 �������������������������� by John Koster Despite last week’s uncontested primary election, Wyckoff voters will have a choice in the general election, as write-in votes justified the bids of Brian Hubert and Diane Sobin places on the November ballot. Only the Republican candidates were listed on the June primary ballot. Kevin Rooney, a real estate manager with experience working with trees and landscaping, received 945 votes. Christopher De Phillips, an attorney, received 924 ballots. Hubert would have needed only 13 write-in votes to earn a place on the November ballot, but received 82 write-ins in the Democratic column and 4 in the Republican column. Sobin, who ran previously as a registered Republican, received 77 write-in votes in the Democratic column and 4 in the Republican column. Bergen County officials ruled that Sobin could not run as a Democrat, but could run as an Independent in November. Wyckoff Sale Days June 11-12-13 Voters to have choice in November election Both Hubert and Sobin have run in previous elections, but have not been elected. Both supported the initiative by Friends of Wyckoff to save Deep Voll Ravine from development and disagreed that the Wyckoff Township Committee and Wyckoff Planning Board had saved a substantial part of the ravine while allowing construction of single-family houses on the upper ground. The Friends of Wyckoff organization has also advocated attempts to collect more grant money for preservation of open space, and the group has run environmental programs including the recycling of electronic equipment. Last year, Brian Scanlan, a Democrat and founding member of Friends of Wyckoff, became the first member of his party to be elected to the Wyckoff Township Committee in many years. Youth on call Wyckoff students from Ramapo and Indian Hills high schools who recently completed the 120 hour EMT course at the Bergen County EMS Academy and passed the State EMT examination: Lily Rutler, future member of the Wyckoff Ambulance Corps, Tim Shannon current member of the Wyckoff Ambulance Corps and Joy Abma, future member of the Wyckoff Ambulance Corps.