September 23, 2009 THE VILLADOM TIMES II • Page 7 Ridgewood High school lists 116 Advanced Placement Scholars by John Koster Ridgewood High School has listed 116 Advanced Placement Scholars, with three students – Arjun Modi, Masahito Sayanagi, and Jay Yang -- taking the top honor as winners of the National AP Scholar Award. Ridgewood also produced 41 AP Scholars with Distinction who earned grades of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and grades of three or higher on five ore more exams. These students – along with Modi, Sayanagi, and Yang – included Philip Baddoura, Madhura Bhalerao, Christopher Buesser, Kyleen Burke, Yunah Chung, Kyle Cohen, Markie Cohen, Madeline Conboy, Jessica Connor, Sarah Gonzaga, Meagan Goodman, Megan Granski, Erik Grossman, Melanie Horn, Grace Horwitz, Michael Katzman, Arvond Krishamurthy, Matthew Levitsky, Ethan Loewnthal, Taylor Magrath, Matthew Moran, Jennifer Narvaez, Alexander Pajusi, Leala Patel, Katharine Powers, Molly Rapaport, Michael Robinson, Rose Sahai, Caitlin Schroen, Kevin Seavers, Richard Semlitz, Mark Sonnick, John Soriano, Alexander Szigety, Clare Tilton, Catherine Trautwein, Joanne Yun, and Nicole Zamalin. The AP Scholar with Honors Award went to 25 students who earned an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and grades of three or higher on four or more of these exams. These students included Hilary Barr, Sarah Bressler, Angela Cacciola, Samuel Diss, Andrew Fine, Annabeth Gellman, Benjamin Grossman, Nicholas Hampilos, Ji Min Hong, Ryan Jorgenson, Mikaela Kislevitz, Max Kurshan, Robin Lee, Jacob Levitsky, Sarah Martino, Victoria Middleton, Jessica Nebbeling, Kao Onishi, Jordan Pames, Amanda Puerto, Allison Rahill, Eric Santoli, Collin Sun, Russell Wolf, and Brianne Wong. Ridgewood High School also reported 50 AP Scholar Awards, which were given to students who completed three or more AP exams with grades of three or higher. These students included Gabriel Alpert, Adam Bair, Chanakya Bavishi, Corrina Bertelsen, Laura Bertocci, Elan Bird, Kevin Boyce, Yun Jea Cho, Eleanor Davies, Eanelli Beth Ann, Jeremy Edelberg, Justin Frey, Joseph Giancristofaro, Christopher Given, Elena Guy, Sean Hannon, Edward Haynes, Kristina Herlihy, Kelly Hommen, Sungwook Hwang, Adam Kaiser, Minjae Kim, Joong Hoon Koh, Dylan Lee, Bryan Lyandvert, Bradley Macnee, John Merritt-Lish, Jackeline Montero, Daniel Nagano-Gerace, Zoe Namerow, Max Needle, Caroline Parnass, Caroline Petriello, Laura Poole, Elizabeth Posner, John Pucciarelli, Bart Rekucki, Alexandra Russo, Alexandra Salerno, Veronica Saron, Dashiell Schwartz, Alexandra Scribetta, John Shen, Daniel Sohval, Mary Spetsieris, Chelsea Sullivan, Dairy Watson, Matthew Wong, Caroline Zrike, and Taylor Zulauf. Of the students listed after the May 2009 AP Honors exams, 14 are juniors and may earn additional honors next year. The exams are scored from one to five, with five being the top score. The Ridgewood Board of Education has accepted about $15,000 in gifts from clubs, students, and parents to maintain school plants and programs without further cost to the taxpayers. The single largest donation was a gift in kind from the Ridgewood Junior Wrestling and Ridgewood Backcourt Club for a new public address system, to be installed in Ridgewood High School Gym 1 at a cost of $8,500. The Ridgewood High School Student Congress paid for the restoration of panels of tempered glass at an approximate value of $4,000. Trustees accept gifts for schools The Ridgewood High School Student Congress gave the school a new television and holder to replace the announcement television in the hallway at Ridgewood High. This gift is valued at $949. The Knudson family donated four whiteboards to the Somerville School at an approximate value of $400. Approximately 540 old telephone handsets that were used within the private telephone service will be donated to the Ridgewood High School Interact Club. J. KOSTER LANDSCAPING MULCH & TOP SOIL INSTALLED SHRUB TRIMMING LAWN MAINTENANCE AERATION & SEEDING FERTILIZING PROGRAM Cirino No need to leave town for CONVENIENT, expert service - our ASE Certified Technicians know your vehicle! We Offer a BETTER $ VALUE than the dealer with a Longer Lasting Warranty: 12 months or 12,000 miles. Here’s a SMART IDEA for Vehicle Owners! New Customers Now Take 15% OFF the first service W/COUPON • Exp 9/30/09 • Not Combinable GIVES US A CALL WHEN YOU NEED CONVENIENT, LOCAL SERVICE! CALL 201-891-0955 FOR INFORMATION WWW.CIRINOLANDSCAPING.COM ASE Certified Technicians 209 S. Maple Ave., Ridgewood • 201-652-4818 AAA Approved Facility ������������ Your Friendly Neighborhood Service Center �����&����� For a Greener Lawn Next Spring… Sat 8-5 201-652-5666 �������������������� ��������������������� ����������������� ������������������ ������������������������������ ������������������� ������������������� ����������������������� ����������������������������� ��������������������������� ��������������������������� ������������������� ������������� ����������������������������� ������������������ ������������������ ������ �������������������� ����������������� ����������� ����������������� ���������������� ������� ������������������������� �������������������������������� Mon-Wed 7:30-6, Thurs & Fri 7:30-8 Sat 8-5 �������������������������� ����������������������������������������� ������������ 27 FRANKLIN TPKE, WALDWICK • 201-652-5666 OPEN SUNDAY 9-3 ���������������������������� �������������������� �������������������� ��������������������