Page 16 THE VILLADOM TIMES I • January 28, 2009 FLOW Notes Students collect prom dresses Students at Indian Hills High School in Oakland are collecting prom dresses in association with Catherine’s Closet, a non-profit organization that donates the gowns to underprivileged New Jersey high school girls. Dresses must be clean and current, but can be any length. The dresses and any monetary donations for the cause can be brought to Indian Hills High School, 97 Yawpo Avenue in Oakland. The deadline for donations is Feb. 28. Additional information is available by phoning the school at (201) 337-0100, extension 3380 or by e-mailing Students perform at Cabaret Night Approximately 300 music lovers are expected to attend Ramapo High School’s annual Cabaret Night on Friday, Feb. 6. at 7:30 p.m. in the Ramapo High School cafeteria. Performances by student bands and the RHS Jazz Band will be featured. Refreshments will be served. Admission is $8 for adults, with a discount for students. Tickets will be sold at the door. There is no admission charge for eighth grade students. This event is the Ramapo Music Parents’ biggest fundraiser. Donations of prizes, which will be awarded throughout the evening, are still needed. Prospective sponsors should contact Ellen Caulfield at (201) 670 4493 or at Military Bridge fundraiser set The Ramapo High School Project Graduation Committee will hold its annual Military Bridge fundraiser at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, Feb. 4 at the high school located on George Street in Franklin Lakes. The cost is $10 per person. No card playing experience is necessary. Sign up as a group of four, fewer than four, or as a single player. Baskets, prizes, and refreshments are featured. Call Maureen at (201) 848-8391 to reserve a table or visit for a form. Payment will be collected at the door. Snow date will be Wednesday, Feb. 11. School board seats available The Ramapo Indian Hills Board of Education has three seats available on the board this year. There is one threeyear seat available in each town: Franklin Lakes, Oakland, and Wyckoff. Petitions may be picked up between 8 a.m. and 3 p.m. Monday through Friday at the board office at Indian Hills High School, 131 Yawpo Avenue in Oakland. Petitions must be completed and filed with the board secretary no later than 4 p.m. on March 2. The drawing for the position on the ballot for candidates will be held on March 11 at 4 p.m. in the district office conference room at Indian Hills High School. The school election will be held on Tuesday, April 21 from 2 to 9 p.m. at which time citizens will also vote on the school budget. Ramapo announces Hall of Fame inductees The Ramapo High School Hall of Fame Committee has announced the 2009 inductees. Included in the 15 inductees are 12 athletes and three coaches. The three coaches are long-time tennis coach Kim Marchese, former boys basketball coach Vinnie Minelli, and gymnastics coach Chris Cauda. The athletes are as follows (listed alphabetically); Debbie Arpert (79), Leo Fiorilla (76), Mike Gaylor (64),Cortney Glaubach (97), Paul Granatell (85), Ken Juall (63), Lee Martinson (69), Dan Milazzo (94), Lloyd Osafo (01), Jennifer Schmaizl (86), Justin Smith (94), and Carolyn Warhaftig (02). This is Ramapo’s fourth Hall of Fame Induction class, and the celebratory dinner will be held Sunday, March 29 at 12:30 p.m. at the Brownstone in Paterson. The cost is $65. Please forward any questions to: Ramapo Athletic Director Todd Meyer at or (201) 8911500, ext.2250. Distinguished scholars named As a result of their outstanding academic achievement, 47 Ramapo Indian Hills seniors were named Edward J. Bloustein Distinguished Scholars for the 2009-10 collegiate academic year. The district’s Distinguished Scholars are Emily Abernathy, Matthew Allan, Christine Asaro, Jeremy Badach, Stephen Budinsky, Jae Bum Byun, Hojin Choi, Victor Dong, Caitlin Downey, Meagan Downey, Ryan Durfee, Monika Gilmore, Scott Glicksman, Rachel Goodgal, Kelsey Holdefehr, Nina Khalid, Jonathan Kourgialis, Christopher Kuehn, Eva Kunkera, Kelly Liss, Tehmina Mall, Brittany Manobianco, Erin McKenna, Luke Menken, Jamie Miller, Zina Model, Nathaniel Mowell, Erin Nerlino, Michael Newman, Tracy Nieradka, Kevin O’Connor, Shawn Paik, Adrien Perkins, Andrew Peterson, Morgan Pines, Jack Potash, Michelle Pratt, Adam Reinitz, Nicholas Russo, Hannah Sabbagh, Taylor Schulte, Brian Sees, Mark Staroselsky, Carol Stoll, Niki Tsahalis, Kellie Valladares, and Kerriann Zier. The Distinguished Scholars Program provides an annual scholarship of up to $1,000, without regard to financial need. This award is dependent upon future State appropriations and may be available for up to four years of undergraduate study at a New Jersey college or university. Cell Phones for Soldiers A charity drive is being run for the non-profit organization Cell Phones for Soldiers. Cell phones will be properly recycled and the payment received will purchase a calling card that will be given to a soldier serving overseas so he or she may call loved ones at home. Each donated phone provides one hour of phone time. There are collection boxes at Ramapo High School in Franklin Lakes, Eisenhower Middle School in Wyckoff, and Saint Elizabeth’s School in Wyckoff. Any questions or comments can be forwarded to Mackenzie Mosera, a sophomore at Ramapo High School, (201) 848-0951 or Wine Tasting Event Waldwick Community Alliance Also sponsored in part by